gratitude list (read: things that matter to me)

September 13, 2010

whatever happens in our lives, there are certain things that are constant..things that inevitably matter to us whether we are on top of the world or in the ruins of broken dreams and promises.. to keep my perspective through the years, three years ago i started my gratitude list.though a lot had been added already, the basics are:

1) faith in God..or whoever one believes in (Allah,Jehovah, Buddha, Krishna etc..) i am not religious but i believe that the early Christian upbringing gave a significant influence in the positive outlook that i have..this faith gave me the strength to enjoy and endure whatever life throws my way.

2) good family. both my parents guided me through the years and supported me in all the endeavors that I set my mind to…my extended family may be critical at times and harsh on some occasions but the love among us is the bond that keeps us strong. our family may not be perfect but it is always a cohesive unit that i feel like i belong to wherever i may go..

3) good education. though i may not be utilizing it at the moment but i am applying the principles of equity, justice, and fairness in my day-to-day living..which i believe is more important than any degree.

4) life partner that i can depend on. i am getting married to one of my best friends from high school, so basically we have the same values and hopefully the same goals in life.. (the fact that he is very patient and understanding helps a whole lot =op)

5) all my mental and physical faculties..blessed to be sane (until now despite everything) and in full control of my physical faculties so at the end of the day, when i am tired from all the stress life is giving me..i take refuge in the thought that I can handle it. no worries..or at least i try not to worry.

there are several things more ( my nephew and niece, lifelong friends, having a job, being debt-free due to living within my means,a boss who actually likes me, etc…) but these are the most important things i am grateful in my life. so when “the going gets tough”..I get going!

Leave a comment